The Semi-finals for the Lyric/PTGPFI Piano Competition For Young Artists was held at Maybank Theater, BGC last March 8, 2020. Each semi-finalist was judged individually by a special jury (only family members were allowed to witness each performance as a precautionary measure in light of the extraordinary circumstances borne from the global coronavirus concern).

The jury for the Semifinals were:

PTGPFI President Anthony Say Yu, Maestra Chi-Ying Hung, and Lyric Piano Corp President Alma Joy Cristobal

Maestra Chi-Ying Hung of Taiwan studied music with Solomon Mikowsky, Fiorella Canin, and Donn-Alexandre Feder at the Manhattan School of Music where she received the Elva Van Gelder Memorial Scholarship, and “Best Performance of Bach” award. She has won numerous competitions including the MSM Chopin Competition, the Great Neck Young Artists Chamber Music Competition, the finalist of the New York Philharmonic Young Artist Competition, and Associate Music Teachers League’s “Lucy Boyan Balakian Award”. Maestra Hung has performed at the Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall, Merkin Concert Hall, the Ethical Culture Society, Lehman College and Taipei Theater in New York, at the National Recital Hall in Taipei, the Tenerife and Lanzarote Music Festivals in the Canary Islands, at the Vila-Seca Festival in Spain, at the Salle Vincent d’Indy in Paris, at the Conservatory Auditoriums of Beijing, Tienjin, and Shanghai in China.

PTGPFI President Anthony Say Yu, Marianne Fajardo Ward, and Lyric President Alma Joy Cristobal

Marianne Fajardo Ward is an experienced teacher in the Makati and BGC area and is accredited by the International School Manila. She is also an Associate Professor at the College of St. Scholastica.

PTGPFI President Anthony Say Yu, UP College of Music’s Augusto Espino, and Lyric Piano Corp President Alma Joy Cristobal

Augusto Espino from the UP College of Music is a  pianist, Christian songwriter, choral conductor and arranger. In 2000, he was awarded the UP Gawad Chanselor Award as “Pinakamahusay na Alagad ng Sining.” He has performed locally and internationally and is an acclaimed piano accompanist due to his musicality, sensitivity, and technical proficiency. Espino has been the featured soloist for the Philippine Youth Orchestra, Metro Manila Symphony Orchestra, Philippine Philharmonic Orchestra, UP Symphonic Band, and the UP Jazz Orchestra.

The Finalists are (in no particular order):


  1. GAW, Ella
  2. HE, Bingxi
  3. SIY, Camryn
  4. TSAI, Angelmay
  5. ZHANG, Moyi


  1. ABABON, Iris
  2. LI, Catherine
  3. MAGBOO, Benedict
  4. MONTEBON, Zion
  5. PU, Su


  1. ANG, Hansel Harel
  2. AVE, Jeremy
  3. BARACOL, Aidan
  4. CHEONG, Gregory
  5. IBON, Reuben

CONGRATULATIONS AND SEE YOU AT THE FINAL ROUND  on 29 March 2020, at Consunji Theather, UP Diliman, Quezon City.

Related Posts